Call me Mamma Chef

Call me Mamma Chef

I make my own baby food, and I’m so proud of it. It may seem extremely overwhelming especially for a working mom, but I have come to realize that it is an empowering and satisfying experience to know that you know exactly what goes into your baby’s food. I am by no means an organic health food buff. My decision to try homemade only baby food was purely based on my desire to instill healthy eating habits into my little one, get her great nutrients from fruits and veggies and the one chance I have to get her to eat her veggies willingly.

Also, you cannot beat the cost saving potential of this venture. Let’s face it, raising a baby is really expensive with diapers and clothes they outgrow as you blink and doctor’s visits, things can really add up. Making your own baby food will save you a ton of money; it has saved us quite a lot. Many working moms think that this is way too time consuming, especially if you have to prepare several different meals.

Typically I prepare a weekly batch of veggies on a Sunday afternoon; prepping and steaming her veggies takes the same time it would for me to watch a 30 minute sitcom. It’s convenient too to also have a mini food processor or a small blender. I am particularly in love with the baby bullet, it is amazeballs! I put some steamed veggies in there and bada bing 5 seconds later, its mush. I purchased my beloved baby bullet online at amazon for less than $60 US plus shipping and in the three months that I have had it, I have recouped what I purchased it for and then some. I whip up from carrots, sweet potatoes, apple sauce to peas, to pears and the list goes on. I just pop them into the pot, steam or boil and then blend and store.

Nothing against moms who prefer to pop open some shelf bought baby food, it can be quite convenient. However, I’m a bit of a control freak, and I love knowing what’s in my baby’s food. Sometimes processed baby food can sit on a supermarket shelf for three years and it is still considered good to eat; this of course is a little scary for me.

There are so many amazing foods that your baby can get to try, that are packed with natural unprocessed nutrients for her growing bones. We have a few fruit trees in our yard, like East Indian mangoes, grapefruit, oranges, and pomegranate. I give her mango puree on occasion and she loves it, so that’s a plus. The possibilities are endless and now at her age her pincer grasp is well advanced so now I cut her fruit into tiny bits and serve them to her on her high chair table. She is a little sassy baby so she loves feeding herself, on many occasions she has tried to wrestle the spoon out of my hand while she was being fed.

As she gets older, we will incorporate food from the family pot like chicken and potatoes, and stew. She does love grabbing our food while we eat so I assume she now wants her big girl portions. It’s so easy to whip up a batch of carrots that your baby can have for a few days instead of canned processed food, I feel like it’s a great way to contribute towards your child’s nutritional development. I mean let’s face it as our kids get older, it will be nothing short of a miracle to get them to eat their veggies, don’t you agree?

Leave a Reply

