6 baby items I never used

6 baby items I never used

by Molly Balint

 

The first time I walked into the big box baby store, scanning gun in hand to begin my first ever baby registry, I was so overwhelmed I had to walk out. The task is a daunting one. So many things you’ll need. So many things you won’t. And without any experience yet, it’s hard to know what products and gear you’ll really use.

I have two friends, newly pregnant, who are going through similar experiences. Both have stumbled upon baby registry lists that have left them feeling overwhelmed. One even wondered how she’d ever be able to afford some of the baby “must-haves” that people were telling her she needed.

So while there are many things I could include on this list, I thought I’d share some of the top baby items I never used. We’re always talking about what we need, I thought it might be fun to talk about some of things we might not. Now, before you look at that little slideshow down there, I want you to know that I completely understand that every person is different. My list of things I don’t need, is someone else’s “can’t live without”. I totally get that.

Take a look at six baby items I never used and share what some of yours are in the comments. What items would you tell a new mom aren’t necessities? Do tell!

thumbs baby bath tub 7 baby items I never usedthumbs changing table 7 baby items I never usedthumbs sheet saver 7 baby items I never usedthumbs sleep sac 7 baby items I never usedthumbs wipe warmer 7 baby items I never usedthumbs screenshot 25 7 baby items I never used
baby bath tub
While I know lots of people who use these, we just didn’t have the space. In the end, I simply used one of those yellow sponges in our tub. Worked for every baby, much cheaper, and easier to store.

baby bath tub 7 baby items I never used

changing table
While I didn’t learn this lesson the first time, eventually I realized that all I needed was a dresser and a changing pad. Way smarter.

changing table 7 baby items I never used

sheet saver
I get why this is a good idea. But when we’re told to ditch bumpers and blankets and pillows in the baby’s bed, these just made me way too nervous. I stocked up on a few extra sheets and changed the crib sheets when needed. More peace of mind for a mom who still makes sure the baby is breathing.

sheet saver 7 baby items I never used

sleep sac
I have written about these before. I WANT to use these. I WANT these to work for me, but they never did. They seemed too bulky for my babies.

sleep sac 7 baby items I never used

wipe warmer
I once had a family member tell me he thought not using a wipe warmer in the winter bordered on child abuse. He was kidding, of course, but I never felt the need to have one.

wipe warmer 7 baby items I never used

diaper stacker
Honestly, i’m not even sure what this is. Do you store your diapers in it? Wouldn’t you just store your diapers in the dresser drawer? Yes, they’re kind of cute, but I never saw the need for one.

screenshot 25 7 baby items I never used

*When I’m not geeking out over baby gear, you can find me on my personal blog, MommyCoddle, talking about life with four girls in our fixer-upper farmhouse in rural Maryland. On twitter @MommyCoddle and on Pinterest.

<!–

–>

Leave a Reply

