I do not serve my baby juice!

I do not serve my baby juice!

Let’s face it; she will have a sweet tooth at some point, that is a fact! I just don’t want to harness it at this critical stage of her nutritional development. I’ve done the research and I’ve learnt that  juice adds no nutritional value that she can’t have in whole fruits. So I serve her fresh fruit, twice a day in fact. I don’t mean to brag but I do make a great apple sauce, well at least my little one seems to think so because she gobbles it up. I know what’s in the fruit I serve, all the nutrition is retained because it’s fresh and it has all the natural sugar that she needs instead of the artificially added ones they have in some juices.

I try to give her a variety of fruits or fruit purees, such as watermelon, mango, bananas, pear, apples, pineapple, peach and kiwi and she seems to enjoy them all. Well, except for watermelon, for some reason she isn’t fond of it. I try to disguise it in popsicles but she always knows it’s there.

We’ve decided not to serve babyE juice for at least the first 2 years of her life, because we want her to fall in love with water and also as mentioned before, delay that inevitable sweet tooth. She is her mother’s child after all, so I have no doubt that at some point in the future I will be one of those mommies in the supermarket holding my head in shame while my DD rolls around on the floor for some bon bons or M & Ms. I have a certifiable sweet tooth myself, I have never met any dessert table that I didn’t fall in love with, it always beckoned to me and I was powerless to resist.

Now babyE loves water, she drinks a lot of it, which is especially refreshing during these pending hot summer weeks. She is oblivious to the world of juices, and I like it that way. Because I know in a year she will fall madly in love with apple juice as so many babies do.

Leave a Reply

